As Jira scales into larger operations, it will become necessary to manage the amount of projects so that the Lucene index does not grow too large. This is a method of archiving Projects one may not necessarily want deleted, but that they would want to archive in case there is a need to retrieve the project (while still removing it from the Jira instance to increase performance).

Step-by-step guide


  1. After logging in to Jira, click on the gear icon in the top right corner, and click on Projects.
  2. This will display the administrative panel for Jira Projects. To begin the archival process, click on the project. Note: We recommend right-clicking on the project and opening it in a new tab so that you do not lose your place in the case that you are archiving multiple projects.
  3. This will open the Project Settings page. From here, you can verify the project that you are intending to archive.
  4. Next, click on the Issues button on the top of the page, and select Search for issues. This will take you to a page where you can make a custom filter. Make a filter that will pull all of the issues you want to export. For example, if you want to export all issues in a project, use the query 'Project = "Type in your project name here"'. 
  5. Once you have your filter working properly, click on the export button in the top right of the page. You will want to export as XML and PDF.
    1. To export as .xml, click on Export then click on XML. This will open a new page that displays the XML of the project. To save it, press "CTRL + S" and browse to the location where you want to save the file. Ensure that you type in a name that fits the naming convention, and that you save as "Web Page, XML only". You have just archived the XML version of this project.
    2. The next step is to archive the PDF of the project. To do this, click on Export, then click on Full Content. On this page press "CTRL + P" to open the print dialogue box and select Microsoft Print to PDF. From here, select the location where you want to save the file. Ensure that the "Save as type" field is displaying "PDF Document".
  6. Now you have saved the backup files for the project, and you can delete the project. To do this, go back to the original tab that displays all of the projects in the administrative panel, click on the ellipsis on the far right of the project, and select "Delete."
  7. At this point, it may prompt you to type in your password again to verify administrative access. It will then take you to a screen to confirm the deletion of this project. Double-check the name and make sure it is the correct project, then click Delete. Note: The time it takes to delete the project will increase with the size of the project.
  8. It will then tell you how long it took to delete the project. Click on Acknowledge when it finishes to complete this task.