Microsoft 365 automatically saves multiple versions of your files so you can review or restore earlier changes. While this can be helpful, older file versions can take up a large amount of storage over time.
If you no longer need previous versions of a file, WSU recommends deleting older versions to help reduce your storage usage.
Good to Know
Deleting a file version does not delete the file itself. It only deletes the selected older version.
Delete Version History in OneDrive
Use the following steps for files stored in OneDrive:
- Sign in to OneDrive with your WSU credentials.
- Select the My Files option on the left navigation menu.
- Locate the file you want to review.
- Select the More Actions (three dots) icon.
- Select the Version History
- Find the version you no longer need.
- Select the More Actions (three dots) icon next to that version.
- Select the Delete Version
Please Note
You can only delete one version at a time. Repeat these steps for each version you want to remove.
Delete Version History in Teams, SharePoint Sites, Microsoft 365 Groups
Use the followings steps for files stored in Teams, SharePoint sites, or Microsoft 365 Groups:
- Sign in to SharePoint with your WSU credentials.
- Select the My Sites (globe) icon on the left navigation menu.
- Locate and open the site that contains the files you want to review.
- Navigate to the file you want to review.
- Select the More Actions (three dots) icon.
- Select the Version History
- Locate the version you no longer need.
- Hover over the Modified date for that version.
- Select the Arrow icon that appears.
- Select the Delete
Please Note
You can only delete one version at a time. Repeat these steps for each version you want to remove.